Life Tip: Love Languages

  • Published
  • By Capt. Jessica-Lynn Stanley, Licensed Clinical Social Worker
  • 37th Training Wing

In relationships both parties generally want to feel appreciated and loved.  As we become more involved, the expectation is the other party will reciprocate.  Many feel they have sincerely tried, but at times can be unsuccessful, and are at a loss.  This can cause a major disconnect in any relationship.  Often it is because they are not speaking their partner’s love language.  The premise of the love language is, every person understands and receives love in a specific “language.”

The five love languages are:

  1. Words of affirmation – Verbalize, leave a note or send a text stating you love/appreciate them
  2. Quality time – Create special moments and spend focused time with your partner
  3. Receiving gifts – Give thoughtful gifts and gestures
  4. Acts of service – Find small ways to help and lighten their daily load
  5. Physical touch – Hugs, kisses, cuddling, and holding hands

Ask your partner what they believe their love language is and share yours.  This awareness of the different love languages can help you both understand the relationship better.  For more information read: The 5 Love Languages by Dr. Gary Chapman.