Lance P. Sijan Leadership Award Warhawk Winners Announced

  • Published
  • By Capt. Kayshel Trudell
  • Gateway Wing


The 37th Training Wing nominees of the 2020 Lance P. Sijan Leadership Award were recognized during an award ceremony at the Gateway Club on Joint Base San Antonio Lackland, Texas, July 29, 2020. This distinguished honor is awarded to Airmen who demonstrated the highest qualities of leadership across the Air Force. 

Winners were announced by the surviving younger sister of Sijan, Janine Sijan-Rozina, via a zoom call into the event. The 2020 Lance P. Sijan Leadership Award recipients for the Gateway Wing are:

Senior Officer Category – Maj Jordan Clark

Junior Officer Category – Capt Whitney Quinn

Senior Enlisted Category – Master Sgt. Keyla Watt

Junior Enlisted Category – Technical Sgt. Benjamin Johnson

Those in attendance had the opportunity to watch a screening of SIJAN: A Quest for Freedom, a feature length documentary exploring capt Sijan's life and legacy. The viewing was followed by a question and answer session with Janine Sijan-Rozina.     

One 37 TRW winner, Capt Whitney J. Quinn, 737th Training Group, continues on to compete at the 2nd Air Force level of the award.

See more about Sijan here.  

Below is a complete list of all 37 TRW nominees sorted by group: 

Inter American Air Force's Academy

Tech. Sgt. Jonathan Avila
Master Sgt. Keyla Watt
Capt. Jason Mag
Lt. Col. Vrettos Notaras


737th Training Group, Basic Military Training

Staff Sgt. Sylvia Black 
Master Sgt. Kendra Bossard
Tech. Sgt. Ashley Lexvold
Master Sgt. William Everett
Tech. Sgt. Megan Suter
Master Sgt. Bryant Felton
Tech. Sgt. Christopher Berg
Master Sgt. Shaun Dube
Staff Sgt. Steve Shorter
Master Sgt. Mark Gillett
Tech. Sgt. Lee Fast
Master Sgt. Joshua Dendy
Tech. Sgt Jaris Hasty-Milton
Master Sgt. Kristina Decot
Tech. Sgt. Anthony Espino
Master Sgt. Dominic Wimsatt
Tech. Sgt. Genesis Infante
Master Sgt. Hubert Johns
Tech. Sgt. Elisa Panek 
Master Sgt. Lioel Garcia
Capt. Whitney Quinn
Maj. Joseph Harris
Capt. Landrick Dixon
Capt. Jose Rodriguez
Capt. Tasha Roach
Maj. Karyn Argueta
Capt.  Brandy Dorrough
Maj. Brandon Kalski
Capt. Daniel Keel
1st Lt. Keith Jones
Maj. Christopher Robey
Capt. Franklin Eason
Lt. Col. Benjamin Werner,


Defense Language Institute English Language Center

Tech. Sgt. Michael A. Janzen


37th Training Group - Technical Training 

Senior Master Sgt. Danny Hayter Jr.
Tech. Sgt. Morgan Grebens
Maj Tate Grogan
Tech. Sgt. Stephen Nores
Master Sgt. Samantha Maghamez
Master Sgt. Timothy Franseen
Tech. Sgt. Benjamin Johnson
Capt. Chad Jessup
Maj. Jordan Clark
Tech. Sgt. Ryan Timm
Master Sgt. Chantal Gabaldon
Staff Sgt. Leanne Fulkerson
Master Sgt. Devon Miller


*            *            *

The U.S. Air Force Lance P. Sijan Leadership Award was first was established in 1981 as a way to distinguish Airmen who have demonstrated the highest qualities of leadership in both their job and way of life. Today, the Sijan Leadership Award is one of the most prestigious Air Force awards. Capt. Sijan, who’s Douglas A-1 Skyraider (formerly AD Skyraider) was shot down over Vietnam, fight until his last breath as a POW. Sijan is the only Air Force Academy Medal of Honor recipient.